Lynn Pippenger Named “Philanthropist of the Year”

Lynn Pippenger (left) with Kate Tiedemann College of Business Dean Sri Sundaram and

Lynn Pippenger (left) with Kate Tiedemann College of Business Dean Sri Sundaram and Association of Fundraising Professionals President Sara Leonard during a breakfast honoring her selection as “Philanthropist of the Year” at USFSP.

(Oct 25, 2017) – Lynn Pippenger, the former chief financial officer of Raymond James and the namesake of the USFSP Kate Tiedemann College of Business building, has been selected as the Philanthropist of the Year by the Suncoast Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP).

Last year Pippenger, who attended USFSP during the 1980s, donated a $5 million gift to the university to support merit scholarships for full- and part-time undergraduate students who are studying accounting and finance. She has also given more than $21 million to USF Muma College of Business. And earlier this year, Pippenger and donor Kate Tiedemann seeded $250,000 each to fund the new Wealth Management Center at USFSP, where students apply real-world investment skills in managing an IRA, trading stocks and managing a clients’ wealth.

“It is a great honor and I’m quite surprised I was even thought of for this distinction,” said Pippenger during a breakfast honoring her selection at USFSP this morning.

Pippenger began working at Raymond James in 1969. She was hired as a payroll clerk in the then-unknown brokerage firm. Pippenger says that job quickly evolved to become a “whatever comes my way” job, and she worked alongside Bob and Tom James to help build the company. She served as chief financial officer and treasurer of the firm, while handling numerous special projects as the company grew. She created the firm’s human resources department and launched an internal educational program now known as “Raymond James University.” Eventually, she helped file the paperwork to take the company public. Pippenger retired in 2012.

Pippenger is part of a group of individuals and organizations that will be honored during AFP’s National Philanthropy Day at a luncheon on November 15 at the Brian Glazer Family Jewish Community Center in Tampa. The event recognizes individuals and groups who tirelessly work to make Tampa Bay a healthy and thriving community. The list of other recipients includes:

  • Philanthropic Corporation of the Year ~ Skanska USA Building, Inc.
  • Gayle Sierens Volunteer of the Year in Philanthropy ~ Barbara Curts
  • Spirit of Philanthropy ~ David Finkel
  • Philanthropic Small Business of the Year ~ Siracusa Staffing & Leasing
  • Philanthropic Service Organization of the Year ~ Associate Board of Ambassadors – American Cancer
  • Youth in Philanthropy ~ Sally Campbell

Last year, USFSP donors Tiedemann and Ellen Cotton were the recipients of this AFP award.

Learn more about Pippenger’s philanthropic contributions to USFSP.