Aspiring Journalists Inducted Into Honor Society

Five USFSP journalism students are the first to be inducted into the recently-renamed Robert W. Dardenne Chapter of Kappa Tau Alpha (KTA), journalism’s academic honor society. The Chapter was renamed in honor of Associate Professor Dardenne, who passed away suddenly last fall.

Journo Honor Society

From left: May Zayan, Haley Christian, Tyler Killette and Amanda Starling

“Dr. Dardenne was an experienced journalist and a dedicated educator,” said Deni Elliott, Ed.D., chair of the Department of Journalism and Media Studies. “His wisdom and commitment to excellence in journalism education inspired his students, colleagues and all who knew him during his 22 years at USF St. Petersburg.”

Journalism and Media Studies Master’s degree candidate May Zayan and Journalism seniors Haley Christian, Kim Doleatoo, Tyler Killette and Amanda Starling are the 2014 KTA inductees.

Dr. Dardenne spearheaded the creation of USFSP’s KTA chapter in 2012 and served as its first faculty adviser. The Journalism faculty voted unanimously in support of the name change.