Sailing - Photo by Thomas Hamby

USF St. Petersburg co-hosting College Sailing Spring National Championships

USF St. Petersburg will co-host the 10-day 2013 College Sailing Spring National Championships starting Tuesday, May 21.

The USF Women’s Sailing Team, which is based at USF St. Petersburg, is among 27 teams from across the country that will compete May 21-24 for the national Gerald C. Miller Trophy.

Other races include team competitions for the Walter C. Wood Trophy, 25-27, and co-ed competitions May 28-30 for the Henry A. Morss Trophy.

USF St. Petersburg is honored to host the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association spring nationals along with Eckerd College and the St. Petersburg Yacht Club, said Zac Oppenheim, USFSP assistant director of Student Life and Engagement.

“This is a big deal,’’ Oppenheim said. “In the college sailing community, it’s the biggest deal.”

All the events start about 9 a.m. and will take place in Tampa Bay near the Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove at the southern tip of Pinellas County. Spectators can watch from the beach at the cove.